Applied IO 2016

Seventeenth CEPR/JIE School and Conference on Applied Industrial Organization

Hosted, Organised and Supported by

University College London (UCL)
the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS)
CEPR Economists
Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD, LSE)
Charles River Associates (CRA)
Journal of Industrial Economics (JIE)
RBB Economics
Compass Lexecon

London; 18-21 May 2016

School Address: CILIP, 7 Ridgmount Street, London, WC1E 7AE

Main Conference Address: Wilkins Gustave Tuck Lecture Theatre, UCL
University College London, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT


The 17th CEPR Conference on Applied Industrial Organization will take place in London, 19-21 May 2016. The event is organised by Gregory S. Crawford (University of Zurich and CEPR), Alessandro Gavazza (LSE and CEPR), Rachel Griffith (IFS/Manchester and CEPR), Lars Nesheim (UCL), and Tommaso Valletti (Imperial and CEPR).

The Applied IO conference series seeks to contribute to the understanding of the breadth of topics analysed within the field of Industrial Organization, including demand, productivity, competition in the short- and long-run, innovation, investment, and auctions, to develop empirical protocols and tests of economic models, to promote the exchange and the dissemination of results at the forefront of research, and finally, to evaluate current competition and regulation policies. It will cover the state of the art in both applied and empirical Industrial Organization.

Keynote speakers:

Bruno Jullien, Toulouse School of Economics and CEPR
Jan De Loecker, Princeton University, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, NBER and CEPR

The conference will be preceded by the 13th CEPR School in Applied Industrial Organization, sponsored by Amazon Economists, which will take place on Wednesday 18 May 2016. The aim of the annual School is to provide a forum for intellectual exchanges between PhD students and more experienced researchers in the field of industrial organization. 

Papers willl be selected by a committee formed by the organisers and the members of the steering committee of the Applied IO Programme:

Bart Bronnenberg (Tilburg University and CEPR)
Gregory S. Crawford (University of Zurich and CEPR)
Peter J. Davis (Compass Lexecon)
Jan De Loecker (Princeton University, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, NBER, and CEPR)
Alessandro Gavazza (London School of Economics and CEPR)
Rachel Griffith (University of Manchester, IFS, and CEPR)
Lars Nesheim (UCL)
Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim and CEPR)
Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)
Katharine Rockett (University of Essex and CEPR)
Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (University of Vienna and CEPR)
Otto Toivanen (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and CEPR)
Tommaso Valletti (Imperial College London, University of Rome "Tor Vergata", and CEPR)
Frank Verboven (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and CEPR)
Nikos Vettas (Athens University of Economics & Business and CEPR)