Eighteenth CEPR/JIE School and Conference on Applied Industrial Organization

Eighteenth CEPR/JIE School and Conference on Applied Industrial Organization

Hosted, Organised and Supported by
Amazon.com Economists
Journal of Industrial Economics (JIE)
The Ben-Porath Fund at The Maurice Falk Institute for Economic Research
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem​

Jerusalem; 16-19 May 2017

School and Main Conference Address: The Van Leer Jerusalem Institute located at 43 Jabotinsky Street, Jerusalem 9104001



The Applied IO conference series seeks to contribute to the understanding of the breadth of topics analysed within the field of Industrial Organization, including demand, productivity, competition in the short- and long-run, innovation, investment, auctions, to develop empirical protocols and tests of economic models, to promote the exchange and the dissemination of results at the forefront of research, and finally, to evaluate current competition and regulation policies. It will cover the state of the art in both applied and empirical Industrial Organization.

The Keynote speeches this year will be given by:
Joe Harrington, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

The conference will be preceded by the 14th CEPR School in Applied Industrial Organization, which will take place on Tuesday 16 May 2017. The aim of the annual School is to provide a forum for intellectual exchanges between PhD students and more experienced researchers in the field of industrial organization. More senior researchers are invited to encourage their students to apply to the school. A separate invitation will be sent for the school in the following weeks.

Papers will be selected by a committee formed by the organisers and the members of the steering committee of the Applied IO Programme.
Bart Bronnenberg (Tilburg University and CEPR)
Gregory S. Crawford (University of Zurich and CEPR)
Peter J. Davis (Cornerstone Research)
Jan De Loecker (Princeton University, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, NBER, and CEPR)
Alon Eizenberg (Hebrew University of Jerusalem and CEPR)
Alessandro Gavazza (London School of Economics, NBER, and CEPR)
David Genesove (Hebrew University of Jerusalem and CEPR)
Rachel Griffith (University of Manchester, IFS, and CEPR)
Saul Lach (Hebrew University of Jerusalem and CEPR)
Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim and CEPR)
Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)
Katharine Rockett (University of Essex and CEPR)
Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (University of Vienna and CEPR)
Frank Verboven (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and CEPR)
Nikos Vettas (Athens University of Economics & Business and CEPR)