Richard Blundell

Director, ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy at Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS), David Ricardo Chair of Political Economy at University College London

Professor Sir Richard Blundell holds the David Ricardo Chair of Political Economy at University College London where he was appointed Professor of Economics in 1984, and was Chair of the Department 1988-1992. He is a graduate of the University of Bristol and London School of Economics. From 1986 - 2016 he was Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS). He is Director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy (CPP) at IFS. He is an associate faculty member of the Toulouse School of Economics, TSE. He has been awarded Honorary Doctorates from the University of St.Gallen, Switzerland; the Norwegian School of Economics, NHH, Bergen, Norway; the University of Mannheim, Mannheim; Universita della Svizzera, Lugano, Switzerland; the University of Bristol; the University of Venice Ca’Foscari; and Athens School of Economics (AUEB); . He has held visiting professor positions at UBC, MIT and Berkeley. He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society (1991), Fellow of the British Academy (1996), Honorary Member of the American Economic Association (2001), Honorary Member American Academy of Arts and Science (2002) and Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries (2003). He was knighted in the 2014 New Years Honours list for services to Economics and Social Science; he was awarded the CBE in 2006. In 2004 he was President of the European Economics Association. He was President of the Econometric Society in 2006. He was President of the Society of Labor Economics in 2010. He was President of the Royal Economic Society 2011-2013. Prizes include: The 1995 Yrjö Jahnsson Prize, given every two years to the best young economist in Europe (aged under 45), for his work in microeconometrics and the analysis of labour supply, welfare reform and consumer behaviour. The Econometric Society Frisch Prize Medal in 2000 for his paper 'Estimating Labour Supply Responses using Tax Reforms'. Recipient of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize 2008 given to a high level economist whose research combines both the theoretical and applied aspects of economics. The 2015 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Prize in Economics; the 2016 Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics; and the 2020 Jacob Mincer Prize in Labor Economics. He has been on the editorial board of many academic journals and was Co-editor of Econometrica from 1997-2001 and of the Journal of Econometrics from 1992 to 1997. He is currently an Editorial Board member of Annual Reviews. His published papers have appeared in academic journals including Econometrica, Review of Economic Studies, American Economic Review, Journal of Political Economy, Quarterly Journal of Economics, Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, Journal of Econometrics, Journal of Applied Econometrics and Economic Journal. He has also published a number of edited volumes and monographs. He is also one of the editors of the Mirrlees Review of Tax Reform which reported its findings in 2011. He is currently editor and panel member of the IFS-Deaton Review: Inequality in the 21st Century.