26th CEPR European Summer Symposium in International Macroeconomics (ESSIM) 2018 (1895)

22/05/2018 - 25/05/2018, Oslo

A joint meeting of the following programmes: International Macroeconomics and Finance (IMF), Monetary Economics and Fluctuations (MEF) and Macroeconomics and Growth (MG), hosted by the Norges Bank, Oslo and taking place 22-25 May 2017.

ESSIM Format
The programme follows a flexible, condensed format allowing participants to attend both plenary sessions and specialised presentations over two and a half days:

- Tuesday 22nd afternoon and Wednesday 23rd morning: MEF programme presentations
- Wednesday 23rd afternoon and Thursday 24th morning: Plenary talks
- Thursday 24th afternoon and Friday 25th morning: Split MG and IMF programme presentations

? All participants are expected to attend the plenary talks and the presentations of at least one programme.
? Participants can ? and are encouraged to ? stay for the full programme.

Guest Speakers:

? Sérgio Rebelo (Northwestern University and CEPR)
? Stephanie Schmitt-Grohé (Columbia University and CEPR)
? David Weil (Brown University)


ESSIM is an annual meeting that brings together about 75 economists from across Europe and key researchers from outside the region. It provides a unique opportunity for macroeconomists from different research institutions and countries to discuss research in a relaxed atmosphere and to develop long-term collaborative relationships.

Participation at ESSIM

CEPR cannot accept all applications to attend ESSIM as demand always exceeds the space available. We try to operate the unavoidable rationing as fairly as possible, and in so doing, we assume that those who participate will at least attend the plenary talks (afternoon of the 23rd and morning of the 24th) and the talks of at least one programme area.

More information on our programme areas are here: http://cepr.org/content/programme-areas


Knut Are Aastveit (Norges Bank)
Philippe Bacchetta (Université de Lausanne and CEPR)
Hilde C Bjørnland (BI Norwegian Business School)
Francesco Caselli (London School of Economics and CEPR)
Wouter den Haan (London School of Economics and CEPR)