2020 Birgit Grodal Award awarded to CEPR Research Fellow Eliana La Ferrara

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Congratulations to Eliana La Ferrara for being awarded the 2020 Birgit Grodal Award for a European-Based Female Economist. The award, given every two years by the Council of the European Economic Association (EEA), recognises a European-based female economist who has made a significant contribution to the economics profession. 


The prize was awarded in recognition of Eliana La Ferrara’s significant contributions in studying the role of trust, norm enforcement and identity in economics. Her work brings theoretical insights to data in innovative ways to provide robust empirical evidence on these issues. She is an excellent communicator, and has provided important leadership, most recently in terms of creating a thriving European Job Market.

Eliana La Ferrara is a Research Fellow in CEPR’s Development Economics and Public Economics programmes. She holds the Fondazione Romeo ed Enrica Invernizzi Chair in Development Economics at Bocconi University. 

Eliana is a long-standing contributor to CEPR and VoxEU, and has recently featured on the CEPR & UBS Women in Economics series. You can view her interviews, and a selection of her Vox columns below: 

Women in Economics Series, Video Vox:

Escape the aspirations trap - 05 October 2019 

Studying diversity - 11 October 2019

The power of edutainment - 18 October 2019

You can find a selecion of his latest Vox Columns below:

Revealing implicit stereotypes
02 February 2019

Violence against women: A cross-cultural analysis for Africa
25 March 2016

Economic and social impacts of the media
28 July 2015

History of Award

The award is named after Birgit Grodal, who was the first female elected President of the EEA, but sadly passed away before she was due to take up her presidency. Since 2012, the Birgit Grodal Award is bestowed every even year and is sponsored by Danmarks Nationalbank.  

The 2020 Birgit Grodal Award Committee was  Rachel Griffith (Chair), Ernst Fehr, Rohini Pande , Helene Rey and Christian Schultz. Previous recipients of the award are all CEPR Research Fellows: Hélène Rey, Rachel Griffith, Lucrezia Reichlin and Ekaterina Zhuravskaya.