The Committee’s mission is to establish the chronology of recessions and expansions of the 11 original euro area member countries plus Greece for 1970-1998, and of the euro area as a whole from 1999 onwards. The Committee issued its first Findings on 22 September 2003, its second Findings on 31 March 2009, its third Findings on 4 October 2010 and its fourth Findings on 15 November 2012.

The Committee comprises: