Research projects in the International Macroeconomics Programme include:

Euro Area Business Cycle Network

The Euro Area Business Cycle Network (EABCN), established in 2002, provides a forum for the better understanding of the Euro area business cycle, stimulate empirical research on the euro area business cycle through interaction between academics and researchers based in central banks. The network is chaired by IM Research Fellow Massimiliano Marcellino

Euro Area Business Cycle Dating Committee

Another important project is the Euro Area Business Cycle Dating Committee, also established in 2002. The Committee's mission is to establish the chronology of recessions and expansions of the 11 original euro area member countries plus Greece for 1970-1998, and of the euro area as a whole from 1999 onwards. The Committee is chaired by Philippe Weil, President of OFCE in Paris and a IM Research Fellow. In addition to Lucrezia Reichlin and Richard Portes (who are members ex-officio) the Committee now includes IM Research Fellows Domenico Giannone, Refet Gürkaynak, Monika Merz, Albrecht Ritschl, Barbara Rossi, and Karl Whelan.