European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory 2014

Study Center Gerzensee logoCEPR logo





European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory 2014

Generously hosted by the Study Center Gerzensee

Monday 30 June - Friday 11 July 2014


Papers - Week one (Law and Economics)

Papers - Week two (Attention)

List of Participants (as of 26.06.2014)

Study Center Price List

Local Information - Gerzensee

CEPR Expense guidelines

Expense claim form

ESSET 2014 will be devoted to ‘Law and Economics with special focus on: Contracting for Innovation, Regulatory Dualism, and Bank Resolution’, and ‘Attention’.

Focus sessions in the first week (30 June - 4 July) will be organised by Patrick Bolton and Robert Scott (Columbia Law School) around the theme of ‘Law and Economics’ and will involve (as well as the organisers) Ronald Gilson (Stanford Law School), Jeffrey Gordon (Columbia Law School), Henry Hansmann (Yale Law School) and Charles Sabel (Columbia Law School).

Focus sessions in the second week (7 - 11 July) will be organised by Botond Koszegi and Andrea Prat around the theme of ‘Attention’ and will include Andy Caplin, Geoffroy de Clippel, Kfir Eliaz, Martin Hellwig, Yusufcan Masatlioglu, Filip Matejka, Alessandro Pavan, Kareen Rozen, and Josh Schwartzstein.

Each year since 1992, ESSET has brought together fifty economists for two weeks at the Study Center Gerzensee in Switzerland. The Symposium is organised by CEPR jointly with the Study Center Gerzensee, a foundation of the Swiss National Bank. Each year, the focal points of ESSET are a small number of special workshops that determine the broad themes of the symposium. In recent years, the workshops have been on:
2013:   Macroeconomic Theory (Elias Albagli, Klaus Adam, Marios Angeletos, Paul Beaudry, Christian Hellwig, Xavier Vives and Mirko Wiederholt)
Behavioral Mechanism Design (Geoffroy de Clippel, Jeff Ely, Philippe Jehiel, Nick Netzer, Ariel Rubinstein, Rani Spiegler and Yuval Salant)
2012:    Matching (Qingmin Liu, Benny Moldovanu, Hector Chade and Georg Nöldeke)
Communication and Information (Willie Fuchs, Johannes Hörner, In-Uck Park, and Moritz Meyer-ter-Vehn)
2011:    Asset Pricing, Financial Stability, and the Crisis (Patrick Bolton and Xavier Vives)
    Financial Intermediation, Regulation and the Crisis (Margaret Meyer)
2010:    Market and Mechanism Design (Christian Hellwig, Dezsö Szalay and Juuso Välimäki)
New Directions in the Theory of Choice (Ran Spiegler)
In addition to the focus sessions there will be a number of additional seminars. Typically, when no focus session is scheduled for the day, a 'compulsory' seminar or two in the morning and parallel evening seminars will be held. This schedule should give participants plenty of spare time to interact and collaborate with one another, and to pursue their own research. Although most invitees have been selected on the basis of their interest in this year's themes, the additional seminars need not strictly fall under one of these headings.


ESSET 2014 Organisers:
Patrick Bolton (Columbia Business School and CEPR)
Dirk Niepelt (Study Center Gerzensee and CEPR)
Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)
Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)

Standing organising committee for ESSET:
Chair: Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Jan Eeckhout (Universitat Pompeu Fabra and CEPR)
Leonardo Felli (London School of Economics and CEPR)
Christian Hellwig (Toulouse School of Economics and CEPR)
Matthew Jackson (Stanford University)
Margaret Meyer (Oxford University and CEPR)
Dirk Niepelt (Study Center Gerzensee and CEPR)
Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)
Sven Rady (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Patrick Rey (Toulouse School of Economics and CEPR)
Rani Spiegler (Tel Aviv University, University College London and CEPR)
Juuso Välimäki (Aalto University and CEPR)
Timothy Van Zandt (INSEAD and CEPR)
Xavier Vives (IESE Business School, Barcelona and CEPR)
Lucy White (Harvard Business School and CEPR)