European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory (ESSET) 2016

European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory (ESSET) 2016

Generously hosted by Study Center Gerzensee

Supported by UniCredit & Universities Foundation


Monday 4 July - Friday 15 July 2016




List of Participants (as of 01.07.2016)

Study Price List (2016)

Local information - Gerzensee

CEPR Expense Guidelines

Expense claim form


ESSET 2016 will be devoted to ‘Developments in Mechanism Design’, and ‘Games and Contracts: A Dynamic Perspective’.

Focus sessions in the first week (4 – 8 July) will be organised by Stephen Morris (Princeton University) and Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR) around the theme of ‘Developments in Mechanism Design’ and will also involve Dirk Bergemann (Yale University and CEPR) and Sylvain Chassang (Princeton University) with others to be confirmed.

Focus sessions in the second week (11 - 15 July) will be organised by Johannes Hörner (Yale University and CEPR) and Sven Rady (University of Bonn and CEPR) around the theme of ‘Games and Contracts: A Dynamic Perspective’ and will also include Martin Cripps (University College London), Larry Samuelson (Yale University) and Ennio Stacchetti (New York University) with others to be confirmed.


Every year since 1992, ESSET has brought together fifty economists for two weeks at the Study Center Gerzensee in Switzerland. The Symposium is organised by CEPR jointly with the Study Center Gerzensee, a foundation of the Swiss National Bank. Each year, the focal points of ESSET are a small number of special workshops that determine the broad themes of the symposium. In recent years, the workshops have been on:

2015: Persuasion and Information Acquisition (Alessandro Bonatti, Péter Esö, Emir Kamenica, Eduardo Perez-Richet, Joel Sobel and Dezsö Szalay)

Reviews and Feedback Mechanisms (Gabrielle Demange, Johannes Hörner, Dina Mayzlin, Marco Ottaviani, Motty Perry and Steve Tadelis)

2014: Law and Economics (Patrick Bolton, Ronald Gilson, Jeffrey Gordon, Gillian Hadfield, Henry Hansmann and Charles Sabel)

Attention (Andy Caplin, Geoffroy de Clippel, Kfir Eliaz, Xavier Gabaix, Yusufcan Masatlioglu, Filip Matejka, Alessandro Pavan, Kareen Rozen, and Josh Schwartzstein)

2013: Macroeconomic Theory (Elias Albagli, Klaus Adam, Marios Angeletos, Paul Beaudry, Christian Hellwig, Xavier Vives and Mirko Wiederholt)

Behavioral Mechanism Design (Geoffroy de Clippel, Jeff Ely, Philippe Jehiel, Nick Netzer, Ariel Rubinstein, Rani Spiegler and Yuval Salant)

2012: Matching (Qingmin Liu, Benny Moldovanu, Hector Chade and Georg Nöldeke)

Communication and Information (Willie Fuchs, Johannes Hörner, In-Uck Park, and Moritz Meyer-ter-Vehn)


In addition to the focus sessions there will be a number of additional seminars. Typically, when no focus session is scheduled for the day, a 'compulsory' seminar or two in the morning and parallel evening seminars will be held. This schedule should give participants plenty of spare time to interact and collaborate with one another, and to pursue their own research. 

ESSET 2016 Organisers:

Johannes Hörner (Yale University and CEPR)

Stephen Morris (Princeton University)

Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)

Sven Rady (University of Bonn and CEPR)

Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)


Standing organising committee for ESSET:

Chair: Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)

Margaret Meyer (Oxford University and CEPR), Dirk Niepelt (Study Center Gerzensee and CEPR), Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi University and CEPR), Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR), Sven Rady (University of Bonn and CEPR), Xavier Vives (IESE Business School, Barcelona and CEPR) and Lucy White (Harvard Business School and CEPR)