ESSET 2017 (6721)

European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory (ESSET) 2017

Hosted by the Study Center Gerzensee (Foundation of the Swiss National Bank)

Kindly supported by CEPREMAP​

Gerzensee, Switzerland

Monday 3 July - Friday 14 July 2017




List of participants (as of 04.07.2017)

Local information - Gerzensee

Study Center Gerzensee Price List

CEPR Travel expense guidelines

Expense claim form - please remember to send original copies of receipts / boarding passes to address supplied on form!


What to expect in 2017...

ESSET 2017 will be devoted to ‘Coordination, Communication, and Attention’, and ‘An Economic Perspective on the Design and Analysis of Experiments’.

Focus sessions in the first week (3 – 7 July) will be organised by Joel Sobel (University of California, San Diego - UCSD) and Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR) around the theme of ‘Coordination, Communication, and Attention’ with focus speakers: Laura Doval (Yale University), Simone Galperti (UCSD), Marco LiCalzi (Università Ca' Foscari Venezia), Alessandro Pavan (Northwestern University) and Ming Yang (Duke University).

Focus sessions in the second week (10 - 14 July) will be organised by Sylvain Chassang (New York University) and Margaret Meyer (Oxford University and CEPR) around the theme of ‘An Economic Perspective on the Design and Analysis of Experiments’ and will also include focus sessions from Abhijit Banerjee (MIT and CEPR), Gilles Chemla (Imperial College Business School and CEPR), Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi University and CEPR), Peter Norman Sørensen (University of Copenhagen) and Aleksey Tetenov (University of Bristol).



Every year since 1992, ESSET has brought together fifty economists for two weeks at the Study Center Gerzensee in Switzerland. The Symposium is organised by CEPR jointly with the Study Center Gerzensee, a foundation of the Swiss National Bank. Each year, the focal points of ESSET are a small number of special workshops that determine the broad themes of the symposium. In recent years, the workshops have been on:

2016: Developments in Mechanism Design (Dirk Bergemann, Stephen Morris, Marek Pycia, Tomasz Sadzik and Xavier Vives)

Games and Contracts: A Dynamic Perspective (Martin William Cripps, Johannes Hörner, Larry Samuelson, Ennio Stacchetti

2015: Persuasion and Information Acquisition (Alessandro Bonatti, Péter Esö, Emir Kamenica, Eduardo Perez-Richet, Joel Sobel and Dezsö Szalay)

Reviews and Feedback Mechanisms (Gabrielle Demange, Johannes Hörner, Dina Mayzlin, Marco Ottaviani, Motty Perry and Steve Tadelis)

2014: Law and Economics (Patrick Bolton, Ronald Gilson, Jeffrey Gordon, Gillian Hadfield, Henry Hansmann and Charles Sabel)

Attention (Andy Caplin, Geoffroy de Clippel, Kfir Eliaz, Xavier Gabaix, Yusufcan Masatlioglu, Filip Matejka, Alessandro Pavan, Kareen Rozen, and Josh Schwartzstein)

2013: Macroeconomic Theory (Elias Albagli, Klaus Adam, Marios Angeletos, Paul Beaudry, Christian Hellwig, Xavier Vives and Mirko Wiederholt)

Behavioral Mechanism Design (Geoffroy de Clippel, Jeff Ely, Philippe Jehiel, Nick Netzer, Ariel Rubinstein, Rani Spiegler and Yuval Salant)


In addition to the focus sessions there will be a number of additional seminars. Typically, when no focus session is scheduled for the day, a 'compulsory' seminar or two in the morning and parallel evening seminars will be held. 


ESSET 2017 Organisers:
Sylvain Chassang (New York University)
Margaret Meyer (Oxford University and CEPR)
Joel Sobel (University of California, San Diego)
Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)

Standing organising committee for ESSET:
Chair: Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Johannes Hörner (Yale University and CEPR)
Margaret Meyer (Oxford University and CEPR)
Dirk Niepelt (Study Center Gerzensee and CEPR)
Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi University and CEPR)
Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)
Sven Rady (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Xavier Vives (IESE Business School, Barcelona and CEPR)
Lucy White (Boston University and CEPR)