ESSET 2018 (6725)

European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory (ESSET) 2018

Hosted by the Study Center Gerzensee (Foundation of the Swiss National Bank)

Gerzensee, Switzerland

Monday 2 July - Friday 13 July 2018

What to expect in 2018....

ESSET 2018 will be devoted to ‘Markets for Information’, and ‘Misspecified Models’.

Focus sessions in the first week (2 – 6 July) will be organised by Dirk Bergemann (Yale and CEPR), Alessandro Bonatti (MIT Sloan and CEPR) and Xavier Vives (IESE Business School and CEPR) around the theme of ‘Markets for Information’ - developing new tools or applying them to study the mechanisms by which information is traded. For example:

  • What are the drivers of profitability of collecting and selling data?
  • What determines the structure of the market for information?
  • What are the allocative and welfare properties of a market for personal information?
  • What is the value of consumer privacy, and what is the scope for privacy regulation?

Focus session speakers for the first week already confirmed: Yeon-Koo Che (Columbia University), Bruno Jullien (Toulouse School of Economics and CEPR), Emir Kamenica (University of Chicago), Alessandro Pavan (Northwestern University and CEPR), Mike Riordan (Columbia University) and Andy Skrzypacz (Stanford University) with more to be announced.

Focus sessions in the second week (9 - 13 July) will be organised by Pietro Ortoleva (Princeton) and Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR) around the theme of ‘Misspecified Models’ - situations where agents do not have the right model of the world or do not have a distribution of probabilities over models. Focus session speakers for the second week confirmed: Sylvain Chassang (New York University), Botond Köszegi (Central European University and CEPR), George Mailath (University of Pennsylvania), Larry Samuelson (Yale University) and Ran Spiegler (Tel Aviv University and CEPR) with others to be confirmed.

In addition to the focus sessions there will be a number of additional seminars. Typically, when no focus session is scheduled for the day, a 'compulsory' seminar or two in the morning and parallel evening seminars will be held.


About ESSET (also see:

Every year since 1992, ESSET has brought together fifty economists for two weeks at the Study Center Gerzensee in Switzerland. The Symposium is organised by CEPR jointly with the Study Center Gerzensee, a foundation of the Swiss National Bank. Each year, the focal points of ESSET are a small number of special workshops that determine the broad themes of the symposium. In recent years, the workshops have been on:

2017Coordination, Communication, and Attention (Laura Doval, Simone Galperti, Marco LiCalzi, Alessandro Pavan, Joel Sobel, Dezsö Szalay and Ming Yang)

An Economic Perspective on the Design and Analysis of Experiments (Abhijit Banerjee, Sylvain Chassang, Gilles Chemla, Margaret Meyer, Peter Norman Sørensen and Aleksey Tetenov)

2016: Developments in Mechanism Design (Dirk Bergemann, Stephen Morris, Marek Pycia, Tomasz Sadzik and Xavier Vives)

Games and Contracts: A Dynamic Perspective (Martin William Cripps, Johannes Hörner, Larry Samuelson, Ennio Stacchetti

2015: Persuasion and Information Acquisition (Alessandro Bonatti, Péter Esö, Emir Kamenica, Eduardo Perez-Richet, Joel Sobel and Dezsö Szalay)

Reviews and Feedback Mechanisms (Gabrielle Demange, Johannes Hörner, Dina Mayzlin, Marco Ottaviani, Motty Perry and Steve Tadelis)

2014: Law and Economics (Patrick Bolton, Ronald Gilson, Jeffrey Gordon, Gillian Hadfield, Henry Hansmann and Charles Sabel)

Attention (Andy Caplin, Geoffroy de Clippel, Kfir Eliaz, Xavier Gabaix, Yusufcan Masatlioglu, Filip Matejka, Alessandro Pavan, Kareen Rozen, and Josh Schwartzstein)


ESSET 2018 Organisers:

Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)

Week 1: Dirk Bergemann (Yale University and CEPR), Alessandro Bonatti (MIT Sloan and CEPR) and Xavier Vives (IESE Business School and CEPR)

Week 2: Pietro Ortoleva (Princeton University) and Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)


Standing organising committee for ESSET:

Chair: Dezsö Szalay (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Johannes Hörner (Yale University and CEPR)
Margaret Meyer (Oxford University and CEPR)
Stephen Morris (Princeton University)
Dirk Niepelt (Study Center Gerzensee and CEPR)
Marco Ottaviani (Bocconi University and CEPR)
Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR)
Sven Rady (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Joel Sobel (UCSD)
Xavier Vives (IESE Business School, Barcelona and CEPR)
Lucy White (Boston University and CEPR)