Call For Papers: 12th MoFiR Workshop On Banking



The Money and Finance Research Group (MoFiR) is pleased to announce the next workshop will be held in Naples on 6-7 July 2023. The organising committee of this small informal workshop invites submissions of high-quality theoretical and empirical research on financial intermediation. Scholars in the fields of banking and finance will meet to discuss current issues in banking, financial stability, bank regulation, financial innovation, financial inclusion, and consumer credit. The workshop will provide an opportunity for presentations and discussions about policy-relevant research in an informal and highly interactive environment. 

The keynote speaker will be Vasso Ioannidou (Bayes Business School (formerly Cass) and CEPR)

Accommodation costs (2 nights) for presenters and invited discussants will be reimbursed. There is no conference fee, and all meals are included.

SUBMISSION: To submit a paper (full papers accepted only), please visit the call for papers webpage

Authors who already have a CEPR HUB profile can upload their submission by:

  1. Going to and logging in
  2. After you have logged in, go to 
  3. Click on "Step 1: Apply"
  4. Under "Apply to Attend" click "Yes"
  5. Tick the boxes that apply to you 
  6. Tick "Would you like to submit a paper?", upload your paper and supply the requested information
  7. Click "Submit form" to make the submission.

Authors who do not have a CEPR HUB profile can upload their submission by:

  1. Creating a new profile here
  2. After you have logged in, go to
  3. Click on "Step 1: Apply"
  4. Under "Apply to Attend" click "Yes"
  5. Tick the boxes that apply to you 
  6. Tick "Would you like to submit a paper?", upload your paper and supply the requested information
  7. Click "Submit form" to make the submission.

The deadline for submission is 6pm (GMT), Sunday 15 January 2023. If you have any difficulties registering for this meeting, please email [email protected]. for assistance (with subject header “12th MoFiR Workshop on Banking”).

DUAL SUBMISSION OPTION: In the submission, authors should indicate if they wish their paper to be considered (at no extra fee) for publication by Review of Corporate Finance Studies under the Dual Submission Program. This is a “no-fault” submission option: if the RCFS reviews the paper and rejects it, the authors may submit it to any SFS journal at a later date as if it was never submitted. See for details.

Papers will be selected by the program committee and corresponding authors will be notified of acceptance by 30 March 2023. Given capacity constraints and to promote an active discussion, preference will be given to authors who can attend the whole workshop.

Organising Committee:
Tommaso Oliviero (University of Naples Federico II)
Ettore Panetti (University of Naples Federico II)
Andrea F. Presbitero (International Monetary Fund, MoFiR and CEPR)
Alberto Zazzaro (University of Naples Federico II, CSEF and MoFiR)

Additional Information: 

MoFiR and workshop website:

CSEF website (

Location: Federico II conference Centre in Via Partenope, Naples

Questions may be addressed to: [email protected]

Programme Committee: 
Isha Agarwal (University of British Columbia Sauder)
Pietro Alessandrini (Università Politecnica delle Marche and MoFiR)
Thorsten Beck (European University Institute and CEPR)
Diana Bonfim (Banco de Portugal and Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics)
Martin Brown (University of St. Gallen)
Claire Célérier (University of Toronto and CEPR)
Geraldo Cerqueiro (Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics)
Cláudia Custódio (Imperial College Business School and CEPR)
Hans Degryse (KU Leuven and CEPR)
Ralph De Haas (EBRD and Tilburg University and CEPR)
Andrew Ellul (Indiana University, ECGI and CEPR)
Michele Fratianni (Università Politecnica delle Marche and MoFiR)
Leonardo Gambacorta (Bank for International Settlements and CEPR)
Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR) 
Arpit Gupta (NYU Stern)
Nandini Gupta (Indiana University)
Kinda Hachem (University of Virginia)
Sasha Indarte (The Wharton School)
Rustom M. Irani (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and CEPR)
Agnese Leonello (European Central Bank)
Nicola Limodio (Bocconi University and CEPR)
José María Liberti (DePaul University, Northwestern University and MoFiR)
David Martinez Miera (Universidad Carlos III and CEPR)
Raoul Minetti (Michigan State University)
Camelia Minoiu (Federal Reserve Board)
Karsten Mueller (NUS Business School)
Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI and CEPR)
Marco Pagano (University of Naples Federico II, CSEF, EIEF and CEPR) 
Sergio Schmukler (The World Bank and MoFiR)
Enrico Sette (Bank of Italy)
André F. Silva (Federal Reserve Board)
Janis Skrastins (Washington University in St. Louis)
Sascha Steffen (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management)
Jason Sturgess (Queen Mary University of London)
Hirofumi Uchida (Kobe University and MoFiR)
Gregory Udell (Indiana University and MoFiR)
Iichiro Uesugi (Hitotsubashi University and MoFiR)
Neeltje Van Horen (Bank of England and CEPR)