The GTDW is an established regular trade and development seminar series organized jointly by the Geneva School of Economics and Management of the University of Geneva (GSEM), the Graduate Institute in Geneva (IHEID), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO). After twelve years of running as an on-site seminar, the online edition of GTDW is co-organized with the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR). Visit GTDW's website for further information:


Julia Cajal-Grossi (IHEID)
Monika Mrázová (GSEM and CEPR)
Frédéric Robert-Nicoud (GSEM and CEPR)


Each meeting will take place on a Monday at 10.00 AM (ET) / 3.00 PM (GMT) / 4.00 PM (CET) and last for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

The line-up of speakers is as follows:

  • 20th Sept: Sebnem Kalemli-Özcan (University of Maryland and CEPR)
  • 4th Oct: Esteban Rossi-Hansberg (University of Chicago and CEPR)
  • 18th Oct: Pinelopi Goldberg (Yale University and CEPR)
  • 15th Nov: Amit Khandelwal (Columbia Graduate School of Business and CEPR)
  • 22nd Nov: Kala Krishna (Pennsylvania State University)
  • 6th Dec: Andrés Rodríguez-Clare (University of California, Berkeley and CEPR)

The seminar will consist of a 60 minute presentation, followed by 15 minutes of open discussion. During the presentation, the audience will be automatically muted and may submit questions using the Q&A facility. The hosts will collect a few questions of general interest and relay them to the speaker at intervals, ensuring the flow of the seminar. The last 15 minutes of the event will be reserved for an open discussion, where participants may raise their hand to ask questions live, directly to the speaker.

The events will be live-streamed on YouTube and will be available in real time on GTDW's webpage ( Video recordings of past seminars will be held in a repository on Please note that you may be recorded if you ask a question live during the Q&A.

Abuse of the seminar will not be tolerated.

Scientific Committee:

Richard Baldwin (IHEID and CEPR)
Cosimo Beverelli (WTO)
Julia Cajal-Grossi (IHEID)
Celine Carrère (GSEM and CEPR)
Nicolas Maystre (UNCTAD)
Monika Mrázová (GSEM and CEPR)
Marcelo Olarreaga (GSEM and CEPR)
Roberta Piermartini (WTO)
Frédéric Robert-Nicoud (GSEM and CEPR)
Beatrice Weder di Mauro (IHEID and CEPR)