The CEPR International Lending and Sovereign Debt RPN and the Kiel Institute for the World Economy organised a 2-day Workshop on 

China in the International Financial System 

Thursday-Friday, 29-30 June 2023
Zoom, 02:00-5:30 PM (CEST), 01:00-4:30 PM (BST), 08:00-11:30 AM (EST)

Organised by Sebastian Horn (World Bank and RPN Member), Carmen Reinhart (Harvard Kennedy School, CEPR and RPN Member) and Christoph Trebesch (Kiel Institue for the World Economy, Kiel University, CEPR & International Lending and Sovereign Debt RPN Leader).  

Programme

Thursday, 29 June 2023

• Session 1 - 2-3:30 PM (CEST), 1-2:30 PM (BST), 8-9:30 AM (EST)

Saleem Bahaj (UCL & CEPR)
The Monetary Theory of Exchange Rates Redux: Evidence from China - Slides

Jesse Schreger (Columbia Business School, CEPR & RPN Member) 
China in Tax Havens - Slides

• Session 2 - 4-5:30 PM (CEST), 3-4:30 PM (BST), 10-11:30 AM (EST)

Chang Ma (Fudan University) 
China’s Increasing Global Financial Impact - Slides

Andreas Presbitero (IMF & CEPR)

The HIPC Initiative and China’s Emergence as a Lender: post hoc or propter hoc?

Friday, 30 June 2023

• Session 3 - 2-3:30 PM (CEST), 1-2:30 PM (BST), 8-9:30 AM (EST)

Laura Alfaro (Harvard Business School, CEPR & RPN Member) 
Defaulting on China - Slides

Aitor Erce (Navarra Public University& RPN Member) 
Debt Relief games - Slides

• Session 4 - 4-5:30 PM (CEST), 3-4:30 PM (BST), 10-11:30 AM (EST)

Andreas Fuchs (University of Göttingen) 
Can Aid Buy Foreign Public Support? Evidence from Chinese Development Finance - Slides

Sebastian Horn (World Bank & RPN Member) 
China as an International Lender of Last Resort - Slides

Organizers

Carmen Reinhart

Minos A. Zombanakis Professor of the International Financial System Harvard Kennedy School

Christoph Trebesch

Director of Research Area "International Finance and Macroeconomics" Kiel Institute For The World Economy; Professor of Economics Kiel University

Speakers Day 1

Saleem Bahaj

Research Manager Bank Of England; Associate Professor of Finance and Economics University College London

Andrea Presbitero

Deputy Division Chief, Multilateral Surveillance Division, Research Department International Monetary Fund; Associate Professor of Economics Johns Hopkins University

Speakers Day 2

Laura Alfaro

Warren Alpert Professor of Business Administration Harvard University

Andreas Fuchs

Director of the Kiel Institute China Initiative Kiel Institute For The World Economy; Professor of Development Economics and Director of the Centre for Modern East Asian Studies University Of Göttingen