The Policy Implications of Recent Globalization Research

          

The Policy Implications of Recent Globalization Research

Monthly Online Seminar Series

 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 11am EDT / 8am PDT

The online seminar series on “The Policy Implications of Recent Globalization Research” is organised by the German Development Institute, the Centre for Economic Performance at the London School of Economics (CEP-LSE), and the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR). 
 

Format
The online seminar series aims to encourage the exchange and discussion of empirical research on trade and investment and its effects on developing and emerging countries. The seminar differs from a traditional academic seminar, which focuses on methodology and academic exchange, and instead aims to promote the translation of academic findings into policy. As such, the seminar series provides the opportunity for mutual learning: researchers learning about urgent policy questions and policy makers learning about what is methodologically feasible. Within the seminar series, we aim for academic researchers that can share innovative empirical work and policy insights. Instead of focusing on particular papers, the seminar series invites presenters to present on a particular topic and present their accumulated and broader research findings and agenda. The target audience of the seminar includes both academics and policymakers dealing with trade and investment, and particularly policy makers from emerging and developing countries and in multilateral organisations.The seminar series is held on Zoom and consists of a 40 minutes presentation and 20 minutes Q&A, although we encourage interactive discussions throughout the seminar.
 
Organisers

Kasper Vrolijk (German Development Institute)
Dany Bahar (Brookings, CESifo and IZA)
Catherine Thomas (CEP-LSE, CEPR and CESifo)
Beata Javorcik (EBRD, Oxford and CEPR)
 

Schedule
The seminar series will occur on a monthly basis, at different dates and at 4pm GMT in March / 4pm BST in April and June.
 
  • Thursday 18 March 2021 at 4pm GMT: Dani Rodrik (Harvard University and CEPR) - The Future of Economic Development Strategies. Chair: Kasper Vrolijk (German Development Institute).

Presentation Slides

  • Tuesday 20 April 2021 at 4pm BST: Pol Antras (Harvard University and CEPR) - De-Globalization and the Future of GVCs. Chair: Dany Bahar (Brookings, CESifo and IZA).

  • June: TBC
 
To register your attendance please click here.
Event Type: 
Seminar
start_date: 
Thursday, March 18, 2021 - 16:00
meeting date: 
Thursday, March 18, 2021 to Wednesday, June 30, 2021