European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory 2013

Generously hosted by Study Center Gerzensee

Monday 1 July - Friday 12 July 2013

The 22nd European Summer Symposium in Economic Theory (ESSET) will take place from 1-12 July 2013. Each year since 1992, ESSET has brought together fifty economists for two weeks at the Study Center Gerzensee in Switzerland. The Symposium is organised by CEPR jointly with the Study Center Gerzensee, a foundation of the Swiss National Bank. Each year, the focal points of ESSET are a small number of special workshops that determine the broad themes of the symposium. In recent years, the workshops have been on:

  • 2012: Matching (Qingmin Liu, Benny Moldovanu, Hector Chade and Georg Nöldeke), Communication and Information (Willie Fuchs, Johannes Hörner, In-Uck Park, and Moritz Meyer-ter-Vehn)
  • 2011: Asset Pricing, Financial Stability, and the Crisis (Patrick Bolton and Xavier Vives), Financial Intermediation, Regulation and the Crisis (Margaret Meyer)
  • 2010: Market and Mechanism Design (Christian Hellwig, Dezsö Szalay and Juuso Välimäki) New Directions in the Theory of Choice (Ran Spiegler)
  • 2009: The Subprime Innovation, the Housing Bust and the Financial Crisis: What Happened? What Next? (François Ortalo-Magné and Sven Rady) International Conflict, Bargaining, and War (Matthew Jackson)

ESSET 2013 will be devoted to Macroeconomic Theory and Behavioral Mechanism Design.

Focus sessions in the first week (1-5 July) have been organised by Christian Hellwig around the theme of Macroeconomic Theory and will involve Klaus Adam, Elias Albagli, Marios Angeletos, Paul Beaudry, Xavier Vives and Mirko Widerholt.

Focus sessions in the second week (8-12 July) have been organised by Rani Spiegler around the theme of Behavioral Mechanism Design and will involve Geoffroy de Clippel, Jeff Ely, Philippe Jehiel, Nick Netzer, Ariel Rubinstein, and Yuval Salant.

ESSET 2013 has been organised by Christian Hellwig, Rani Spiegler and Dezsö Szalay and the standing organising committee for ESSET consists of Jan Eeckhout, Leonardo Felli, Christian Hellwig, Matthew Jackson, Margaret Meyer, Dirk Niepelt, Andrea Prat, Sven Rady, Patrick Rey, Ran Spiegler, Dezsö Szalay (chair), Juuso Välimäki, Timothy Van Zandt, Xavier Vives and Lucy White. In addition to the focus sessions there will be a number of additional seminars. Typically, when no focus session is scheduled for the day, a 'compulsory' seminar or two in the morning and parallel evening seminars will be held. This schedule should give participants plenty of spare time to interact and collaborate with one another, and to pursue their own research. Although most invitees have been selected on the basis of their interest in this year's themes, the additional seminars need not strictly fall under one of these headings.