On Monday, 25 March 2024, 05-06 PM (GMT), 06-07 PM (CET), and 01 - 02 PM (ET), the CEPR Competition Policy RPN organised a Webinar on 

Reinvigorating Antitrust:  Citizens, not just Consumers

A conversation between Lina Khan and Daron Acemoglu

moderated by Cristina Caffarra 

FTC Chair Lina Khan has promoted a major effort to apply US antitrust laws as originally crafted, to pursue the interests of all citizens, workers, farmers, small businesses – and protect them from exploitation by corporate power. Daron Acemoglu, MIT and CEPR, has studied the dynamics of power and technology, and their impact on workers and democracy in multiple seminal contributions. 

The conversation between these two superstars, moderated by Cristina Caffarra, University College London, looked at the role of antitrust as a key tool to keep corporate power in check, what economics is interesting and useful to regulators dealing with power today, and how to think of innovation and AI.

Speakers

Daron Acemoglu

Institute Professor in the Department of Economics Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Fellow, Development Economics / Fellow, Economic History / Fellow, Industrial Organization / Fellow, Labour Economics / Fellow, Macroeconomics and Growth / Fellow, Organizational Economics / Fellow, Political Economy / Fellow, Public Economics

Moderator

Introduction

Tommaso Valletti

Professor of Economics Imperial College London Business School; Professor of Economics University of Rome "Tor Vergata"