In the UK CEPR is both a Registered Charity and a Public (Limited) Company, so has both (Charity) Trustees and (Company) Directors. In France it is an Association.

The Centre for Economic Policy Research is a registered UK charity (No. 287287) and is also a company registered in England (No. 1727026) and limited by guarantee. The activities of the Charity are governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association and the Trustees of the Charity are elected by the Members of the limited company.  

Although one of CEPR’s aims is to foster research on policy issues, we take no institutional policy positions nor support particular political parties. CEPR research may include views on policy, but neither the Trustees of the UK Charity nor of the Association give prior review to its publications, and the opinions expressed in published research are those of the authors and not of CEPR.  

There are two sub-committees of Trustees to provide more scrutiny in key areas and to allow the full Board to devote more time to strategic issues. These sub-committees are the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee (FARCo), of which the members are Andrew Woosey (Chair), Bronwyn Curtis and Charles Bean, and the Appointments and Remuneration Committee (ARCo), of which the members are Tony Venables (Chair), Patrick Honohan and Jean-Pierre Landau.

In November 2019 CEPR initiated the creation of an Association under French law, in order to provide a vehicle for an expansion in France. A consortium agreement with various partners was signed in September 2021, which confirmed a major expansion in, and relocation of our headquarters to, Paris. The members of the Conseil d'Administration of the Association are identical to the UK Board of Trustees. The relocation is well under way, and Paris will become CEPR’s headquarters in October 2024.

Our Trustees / Members of the Conseil d'Administration of the Association

Charles Bean

Professor of Economics and Co-director, Executive Masters in Public Administration/Policy London School Of Economics And Political Science

Patrick Honohan

Nonresident Senior Fellow Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE); Honorary Professor Trinity College Dublin

Anthony Venables

Research Director The Productivity Institute; Professor of Economics University Of Manchester

Andrew Woosey

Non-Executive Director & Audit Committee Chair United Trust Bank Limited

CEPR Paris Founding Partners

40 years - Paris Banner