This semester of the CAFFE Seminar Series will be focused on the theme of Finance, Technology, and Society. The papers to be presented will include ones on the topics of artificial intelligence, machine learning, financial technology, decentralized finance, and digital currencies. The papers will study the implications of these technological advances on capital markets, corporate finance, climate finance, household finance and inequality, macro-finance, and financial stability. 

Each seminar will consist of two paper presentations on a particular topic, with 25 minutes for each presentation and 10 minutes for Q&A (with no discussants for the papers). 
The seminars will be on the second Tuesday of each month for 75 minutes. Each seminar starts at 8 AM (New York), 1 PM (London), 2 PM (Milan/Paris/Frankfurt), and 8 PM (Singapore/Shanghai).

You are invited to send suggestions for topics and papers that you would like to see included in the CAFFE Seminar Series for 2023-24. (Feel free to propose your own work if you think it fits in with the theme of the seminar series.) Please email your suggestions to: [email protected] and specify the subject line of your email to be "Suggestions for CAFFE Seminar Series for 2023-24."

The CEPR Advanced Forum for Financial Economics (CAFFE) is organised by Kim Peijnenburg and Raman Uppal from EDHEC Business School, along with Laurent Calvet from SKEMA Business School. Its objective is to make cutting-edge finance research available to researchers based in Europe and around the world.  

Upcoming CEPR Advanced Forum for Financial Economics (CAFFE) Seminars 2024: 

Series Theme: Finance, Technology, and Society

February 13: 

Seminar Topic: Sustainable Investing

 

Theresa Spickers (University of Amsterdam); "Passive Ownership and the Environment" 

Joel Shapiro (University of Oxford and CEPR); Sustainable Investing and Public Goods Provision"

 

For more information please visit the CAFFE websites https://sites.google.com/view/caffeseminars/home and https://cepr.org/events/event-series/cepr-advanced-forum-financial-economics-caffe-seminars

If you have any questions related to this Series, please contact the CEPR Events Team at [email protected], for assistance. Please include CAFFE Seminar Series in the subject line.