Congratulations to CEPR Research Fellows Barry Eichengreen and Carmen Reinhart, who have been awarded the 2022 Distinguished Fellowship Award at the American Economic Association (AEA). 

The Award of Distinguished Fellow was instituted in 1965 and is presented to economists of high distinction in the United States and Canada. You can read the full announcement by the AEA here.

Barry is a research fellow for CEPR's Economic History, International Macroeconomics and Finance, and International Trade and Regional Economics programmes. He is also a member of the CEPR Research Policy Network on Populism. He is the George C. Pardee and Helen N. Pardee Professor of Economics and Professor of Political Science at the University of California, Berkeley, where he has taught since 1987. He recently co-authored Macroeconomic Policies for Wartime Ukraine, the second of CEPR’s Rapid Response Economics series.

Carmen is a research fellow for CEPR's International Macroeconomics and Finance programme. She is also a member of the CEPR Research Policy Network on International Lending and Soverign Debt. Carmen is the Minos A. Zombanakis Professor of the International Financial System at Harvard Kennedy School of Government and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

You can read a selection of their work below: