Conference Industrial organisation

19th CEPR-JIE and Conference on Applied Industrial Organisation

This Event is no longer receiving submissions.

The organisers and steering committee of the 19th CEPR Conference on Applied Industrial Organisation (IO) are writing to invite you to submit a paper or to express your interest in attending the conference, which will take place in Leuven, 18-20 June 2018. The event is hosted by KU Leuven and will be organised by Jan De Loecker (KU Leuven, Princeton University, NBER and CEPR), Kate Ho (Columbia University, NBER and CEPR), Gregory S. Crawford (University of Zurich and CEPR), and Liran Einav (Stanford University and NBER).


Financial support for the conference is generously provided by the FWO Odysseus Grant (De Loecker), IOL KU Leuven, Journal of Industrial Economics (JIE), University of Zurich, and CEPR.

Paper Submissions and Deadlines:

The deadline for submissions is Friday 19 January 2018 (18:00 GMT). Authors will be notified about whether their paper has been accepted in March 2018. Authors who are CEPR members can upload their submission by visiting If you have any trouble applying online, please contact Mandy Chan at [email protected].

Conference Details:

The Applied IO conference series seeks to contribute to the understanding of the breadth of topics analysed within the field of Industrial Organisation, including demand, productivity, competition in the short- and long-run, innovation, investment, and auctions, to develop empirical protocols and tests of economic models, to promote the exchange and the dissemination of results at the forefront of research, and finally, to evaluate current competition and regulation policies. It will cover the state of the art in both applied and empirical Industrial Organisation.

This year will witness enhanced collaboration between IO economists from both sides of the Atlantic, and we are happy to confirm the attendance and participation of Steve Berry (Yale University), Tim Bresnahan (Stanford University), Liran Einav (Stanford University), Ken Hendricks (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Ali Hortacsu (University of Chicago), Aviv Nevo (University of Pennsylvania), Ariel Pakes (Harvard University), Rob Porter (Northwestern University), and Chad Syverson (University of Chicago).

Please forward this call to others, especially junior faculty, who might have papers suitable for the conference. Papers will be selected by a committee of the organisers.


We are unfortunately unable to guarantee accommodation expenses will be covered for all participants on the programme (though we will try). We can, however, assist with hotel reservations. Please let us know with your submission whether you wish to be considered for accommodation funding. Funding priority will be given to junior faculty. As typical, travel expenses will only be covered in exceptional circumstances, according to the usual CEPR Travel Guidelines

Contact Information:

If you have any difficulties registering for this meeting, please contact Mandy Chan, Events Officer, at [email protected] or +44 (0)20 7183 8804.


Yours sincerely,

Jan De Loecker, Kate Ho, Greg Crawford, Liran Einav

Local Organisers and CEPR Applied IO Steering Committee:

Bart Bronnenberg (Stanford University and CEPR), Gregory S. Crawford (University of Zurich and CEPR), Peter J. Davis (Cornerstone Research, London), Jan De Loecker (Princeton University, KU Leuven, NBER, and CEPR), Sebastian Fleitas (KU Leuven), Alessandro Gavazza (LSE, NBER, and CEPR), Rachel Griffith (University of Manchester, IFS, and CEPR), Myrto Kalouptsidi (Harvard University, NBER, and CEPR), Florin Maican (KU Leuven and CEPR), Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim and CEPR), Andrea Prat (Columbia University and CEPR), Mar Reguant (Northwestern University, NBER, and CEPR), Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (University of Vienna and CEPR), Yutek Sun (KU Leuven), Otto Toivanen (University of Helsinki and CEPR), Johannes Van Biesebroeck (KU Leuven and CEPR), Frank Verboven (KU Leuven and CEPR), Nikos Vettas (Athens University and CEPR)