The 20th GEP Postgraduate Conference will take place on April 28-30, 2022. Due to the uncertainty brought about by the pandemic, we are planning a mixed mode event (in person and via Zoom). The exact format will be confirmed at the time of acceptance (mid Feb). The conference provides a forum for the dissemination of student research relating to issues of Globalisation and Economic Policy from both theoretical and empirical perspectives. These areas include Foreign Direct Investment, Trade, Productivity, Economics of the MNEs, Migration and Labour Market Adjustment.

The objective of the Conference is to bring together PhD students and postdoctoral researchers to discuss their own research ideas with established researchers in a relaxed atmosphere. The conference is open to graduate students and post-docs. Speakers will be selected based on the submitted paper (extended abstracts are acceptable but preference will be given to full papers).

Applicants must submit their CV, a letter of support from their PhD supervisor (sent separately by email; this is not required for post-docs) and the paper to be presented. If a full paper is not yet available, please include a detailed abstract, providing clearly the motivation for the work, the relationship to the literature, the method used and the expected results.

Every paper accepted for presentation will be discussed by one colleague. Therefore, those who are invited to present are expected to deliver a complete draft at least a week before the Conference.

Applications must be sent by e-mail to:
Dr Yuan Tian, at [email protected]

Deadline for submission:
Jan 30, 2022

Keynote speakers: Professor Teresa Fort (Dartmouth College and CEPR) and Professor David Nagy (CREI and CEPR)

Best Paper Prize:
The organising committee will award a Best Paper prize to the best manuscript presented at the Conference.

Further Information:

Scientific Committee:
Professor Giovanni Facchini (Nottingham and CEPR), Dr Daisuke Adachi (Aarhus), Dr Piyush Panigrahi (Yale and Johns Hopkins), Dr Yuan Tian (Nottingham), Dr Zhihong Yu (Nottingham)