Hosted by the Study Center Gerzensee (Foundation of the Swiss National Bank), 5 - 8 May 2024

The BIS – CEPR – SCG – SFI Conference on Financial Intermediation known previously as Swiss Winter Conference on Financial Intermediation or “Lenzerheide conference,” brings together globally leading researchers to present their latest work on financial intermediation and related areas, covering both empirics and theory.

This year’s conference will feature:
•    Keynote speeches by Elena Carletti (Bocconi University, Baffi Carefin, IGIER & CEPR) and Philipp Schnabl (New York University, CEPR & NBER)
•    11 research paper presentations with discussions
•    Two sessions for short presentations and posters, with a preference for early-career researchers (PhD students and postdocs)



To view the programme, please click here


The academic programme starts Monday morning (May 6) and ends Wednesday (May 8) at noon. Preference will be given to participants who can stay for the whole duration of the conference. Participants should plan to arrive Sunday afternoon (May 5) and leave Wednesday afternoon (May 8). As paper sessions take place in the morning and late afternoon, there is ample time for discussion and collaboration during the conference days. The Study Center Gerzensee also offers the opportunity for participants to stay on after the conference for co-working.

The conference is committed to promoting high-quality diversity in the covered topics (including e.g. non-bank financial institutions, macro-finance, climate/green finance, household finance, and fintech), in the modelling techniques and data sets employed, and in the background of the participants (including institutional affiliation, gender, and nationality).
The Study Center Gerzensee (SCG) will generously sponsor accommodation costs and meals during the conference, with a contribution from the Bank for International Settlements (BIS). Other supporting institutions are the CEPR and the Swiss Finance Institute (SFI). 


Thorsten Beck (European University Institute & CEPR)
Tobias Berg (Goethe University Frankfurt & IWH Halle)
Diana Bonfim (Banco de Portugal, European Central Bank & Católica Lisbon)
Claire Célérier (University of Toronto)
Jean Edouard Colliard (HEC Paris & CEPR)
Ralph De Haas (European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, KU Leuven & CEPR)
Hans Degryse (KU Leuven & CEPR)
Manthos Delis (Audencia Business School)
Andrew Ellul (Indiana University & CEPR)
Emilia Garcia-Appendini (Norges Bank & University of Zurich)
Leonardo Gambacorta (Bank for International Settlements & CEPR)
Florian Heider (Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE, Goethe University & CEPR)
Kilian Huber (Chicago Booth & CEPR)
Vasso Ioannidou (Bayes Business School & CEPR)
Charles Kahn (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)
Christine Laudenbach (Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE & Goethe University)
Elena Loutskina (University of Virginia)
Stephan Luck (Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
David Martinez-Miera (Carlos III & CEPR)
Ralf Meisenzahl (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
Camelia Minoiu (Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta)
Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI, KU Leuven & CEPR)
Evren Örs (HEC Paris)
Michaela Pagel (Washington University in St. Louis & CEPR)
Giorgia Piacentino (University of Southern California & CEPR)
Alexander Popov (European Central Bank & CEPR)
Andrea Presbitero (International Monetary Fund & CEPR)
Jean-Charles Rochet (Toulouse School of Economics & CEPR)
Kasper Roszbach (Norges Bank & University of Groningen)
Farzad Saidi (University of Bonn & CEPR)
Sascha Steffen (Frankfurt School of Finance and Management)
Daniel Streitz (IWH Halle)
Pascal Towbin (Swiss National Bank)
Neeltje van Horen (Bank of England & CEPR)
Wolf Wagner (Erasmus University Rotterdam & CEPR)


Christoph Basten (University of Zurich, SFI & CESifo)
Martin Brown (Study Center Gerzensee & University of St. Gallen)
Sebastian Doerr (Bank for International Settlements)
Andreas Fuster (EPFL, SFI & CEPR)

For additional information, see