Mirabelle Muuls

Associate Professor in Economics at Imperial College London Business School, Research Associate in the Growth Programme of the Centre for Economic Performance at London School Of Economics And Political Science

Dr Mirabelle Muûls is an Associate Professor in Economics at the Imperial College Business School and the co-Director of the Hitachi-Imperial Centre for Decarbonisation and Natural Climate Solutions. She was a lecturer at the Grantham Institute and the academic director of the MSc Climate Change, Management and Finance. She is also a Research Associate in the Centre for Economic Performance at the London School of Economics, a Research Fellow at the National Bank of Belgium, and in the International Trade and Regional Economics programme of CEPR. Her current research focuses on the economics of climate change, seeking in particular to understand the impact of climate change policies and climate change on firms' emissions, energy efficiency, innovation, competitiveness and performance. She is also analysing households’ energy demand, their behavioural response to different incentives and their flexibility, through the analysis of smart meter data and randomised control trials. Her research interests also cover international trade and globalisation. Mirabelle studied economics at the FUSL and Université Catholique de Louvain in Belgium, and holds an MSc in Politics of the World Economy and a PhD in Economics from the London School of Economics. She previously held Imperial College Junior Research Fellowship. In 2019, she received the Imperial College President's medal for Excellence in Education. and the Finance for the Future awards for “Climate Leadership” and “Driving Change through Education and Academia”. In 2015, she was awarded together with her colleagues the Erik Kempe Award in Environmental and Resource Economics for their publication in the American Economic Review, "Industry Compensation Under Relocation Risk: A Firm-Level Analysis of the EU Emissions Trading Scheme" whilst in 2014 she received jointly with her co-author the Robert Mundell Prize.