Silvana Tenreyro

External Monetary Policy Committee Member at Bank Of England, Professor at London School Of Economics And Political Science

Silvana Tenreyro, CBE, is Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, Fellow of the British Academy and Fellow of the Econometric Society. She is a former External Member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee, and former President of the European Economic Association (EEA). Currently, she serves as Director of the CEPR International Finance and Macroeconomics Programme and as member of the External Advisory Group of the IMF. She obtained her MA and PhD in Economics from Harvard University and her undergraduate degree from Universidad Nacional de Tucuman, in Argentina. She is the recipient of the 2022 Birgit Grodal Award, the 2021 Yrjö Jahnsson Award, the 2021 Banque de France and Toulouse School of Economics Junior Prize in Monetary Economics and Finance, and the 2018 Carl Menger Prize in Monetary Macroeconomics. In 2023 she was made Commander of the British Empire. She holds an Honorary Doctorate from the University of St Gallen. In the past, Silvana also worked at the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston and served as External Member of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of Mauritius. She was co-Director and Board member of the Review of Economic Studies, Chair of the Women’s Committee of the Royal Economics Society, Chair of the EEA’s Women in Economics Committee, Member at Large of the EEA, Director of the Macroeconomics Programme at the International Growth Centre, Associate Editor at the Quarterly Journal of Economics, JEEA, the Journal of Monetary Economics, Economica, and the Economic Journal and served as panel member for Economic Policy. Her main research interests are macroeconomics – particularly monetary policy – international economics and macro-development.