Details on how to register for both in-person and virtual attendance for this meeting will be provided soon. 
Please direct any questions related to this meeting to Lydia Williams, CEPR Senior Events Officer at [email protected] 

In addition to contributed papers, the program will feature presentations by invited speakers Greg Kaplan (University of Chicago), Jennifer La’O (Columbia University and CEPR), Kurt Mitman (IIES and CEPR), Antonella Trigari (Bocconi University and CEPR), and a policy keynote by Governor Olli Rehn (Bank of Finland).

Call for Papers - Submission deadline: March 31 2023

In the aftermath of the pandemic and in the face of recent geopolitical shocks we have entered a period of high inflation and vulnerable growth in many regions, creating new (and old) challenges to monetary policy. This episode was preceded by a sustained period of low inflation and low policy interest rates, during which debt levels kept rising. The new environment has brought to the fore important questions about understanding and modelling inflation, its drivers and dynamics, the monetary-fiscal interactions, and even monetary policy strategies that the leading central banks had only recently reviewed. The conference will bring together top researchers from academia, central banks, and other policy institutions to present research findings related to monetary economics, including the current trends. Some of the topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Monetary Policy, Large Shocks, and Uncertainty
  • Monetary Policy Strategies Revisited
  • Monetary Policy and the Labor Market
  • Monetary-Fiscal Nexus and High Sovereign Debt
  • Monetary Policy and Financial Stability
  • Inflation expectations and Uncertainty

We invite authors to submit completed papers or extended abstracts. Preferences are for completed papers. If you know of a paper that fits the conference theme, please forward this message to the authors.

Please indicate in your submission whether you would be interested in being a discussant as well. The organizers will select the papers based on originality, analytical rigor, and policy relevance.

The deadline for paper submission was 18h00 (GMT) March 31, 2023. Only the authors of accepted papers will be informed by April 30, 2023. Travel and local accommodation for speakers and discussants from academic institutions will be funded by the Bank of Finland.

For questions related to local organisation, please contact Ms Julia Lähteenmäki ([email protected]).

Organising Committee:

Francesco D’Acunto (Georgetown University)

Daniel Hoang (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Seppo Honkapohja (Aalto University and CEPR)

Juha Kilponen (Bank of Finland)

Esa Jokivuolle (Bank of Finland)

Michael Weber (University of Chicago and CEPR)