Workshop Climate Change Energy

CEPR-NBB Joint Research Workshop on Reaching Net-Zero: Electricity Markets, Carbon Pricing, and Firms' Responses


PDF document / 238.91 KB

This Event is no longer receiving submissions.

The National Bank of Belgium and the CEPR organised a joint research workshop on "Reaching Net-Zero: Electricity Markets, Carbon Pricing and Firms' Responses" held in Brussels on 19-20 March 2024. It celebrated the CEPR's new Programme Area on Climate Change.

Organisers: Mirabelle Muûls (Imperial College London and CEPR) & Mar Reguant (ICREA-IAE, Northwestern University and CEPR)

The Keynote Speaker was Professor John Van Reenen, the Ronald Coase Chair in Economics and School Professor and Director of POID, LSE.

The workshop's objective was to provide a platform for discussing topics concerning electricity markets in the context of achieving net-zero emissions and how companies are responding to decarbonisation policies. Empirical contributions that explore how energy markets and businesses adapt to escalating climate goals and the policy implications that arise from these adaptations, were especially encouraged. 

Topics of interest included, but were not limited to:

  • Electricity regulation and incentives,

  • Pricing of electricity with high electrification,

  • The intersection of carbon pricing mechanisms with other climate policy tools,

  • Cap-and-trade market stability mechanisms and the challenges of high carbon prices,

  • Green Industrial policy: Green deal and Inflation Reduction Act,

  • The strategic responses of businesses to climate change-related risks and policies,

  • The evolution of global supply chains and trade patterns in a context of transitioning away from fossil fuels.

Programme Committee
Gert Bijnens (NBB)
Estelle Cantillon (Université Libre de Bruxelles and CEPR)
Antoine Dechezleprêtre (OECD)
Laure de Preux (Imperial College London)
Eugenie Dugoua (London School of Economics)
Shefali Khanna (Imperial College London)
Ralf Martin (IFC, Imperial College London and CEPR)
Mathias Reynaert (Toulouse School of Economics and CEPR)
Thomas Stoerk (NBB)
Carine Swartenbroekx (NBB)
Frank Venmans (London School of Economics)
Daniele Verdini (NBB)
Ulrich Wagner (University of Mannheim)