Speakers

Moderator & Organiser

Meredith Fowlie

Professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics University of California, Berkeley

As carbon markets around the world evolve and mature, jurisdictions are increasingly experimenting with market stability measures such as cost containment reserves to manage carbon price volatility and help ensure that market prices are aligned with climate policy goals. The 14th Episode of the CEPR/EAERE Webinar Series on Climate Policies took place on Wednesday, 15 November 2023, at 4 PM (CET), 10 AM (EST), and 3 PM (GMT) and brought together, for a roundtable discussion, experts from the United States and Europe to discuss how these design features work, what policy objectives they are designed to address, and real-world experience to date.
 
• Dallas Burtraw (Darius Gaskins Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future) 
Price Responsive Allowance Supply, Policy Sequencing, and the Pathway to Net Zero

 Professor Christian Traeger (Professor of Economics, University of Oslo, Research Director, ifo Institute & Associate Fellow, CEPR Climate Change RPN) 
Carbon Tax vs Trade Towards “Carbon Tax and Trade”

• Professor Christian Flachsland (Professor of Climate Policy, Hertie School) 
Managing allowance price risk in the new EU emissions trading architecture
 
The presentations were followed by a discussion and Q&A session with the audience moderated by Meredith Fowlie (Professor, University Of California Berkeley, Research Associate, NBER & Associate Fellow, CEPR Climate Change RPN).