This Event is no longer receiving submissions.


Moritz Schularick

President Kiel Institute For The World Economy; President Professor, Department of Economics Sciences Po Paris University; Director & Professor of Economics University Of Bonn

Christoph Trebesch

Director of Research Area "International Finance and Macroeconomics" Kiel Institute for World Economics; Professor of Economics Kiel University

Call for Papers - closed

A joint Conference from the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR)'s Research and Policy Network on Geoeconomics and the Kiel Institute for the World Economy

The global economic order is undergoing a fundamental transformation, characterized by growing competition between China, Europe and the United States, and a shift from a rules-based to a more power-based system. Geopolitical considerations now increasingly dictate policy decisions and the extent of economic openness. Despite these major shifts, however, rigorous research on the link between economics and geopolitics remains scarce.

To foster cutting-edge research on the topic, CEPR and the Kiel Institute for the World Economy have launched a joint new Research Policy Network (RPN) on Geoeconomics, which will be hosted in a new Berlin research hub. This push will complement and strengthen the Kiel-based Geopolitics and Economics Initiative founded last year. The RPN will be launched in an inaugural conference on 30 November 30 and 1 December, 2023 in Berlin.

The conference will bring together the world’s leading scholars working at the intersection of geopolitics and (international) economics. We will focus, among other themes, on how international economic policies can be used to achieve geopolitical, security and foreign policy goals. We seek papers that study economic security in a world where strategic players exploit economic and financial vulnerabilities (“choke points”) and which quantify these vulnerabilities, i.e. the economic costs of potential disruptions of supply chains, production networks, financial networks, technology, and market access. Other potential topics include the consequences of deglobalization, as well as the effects of growing geopolitical risks and wars on growth and development, inflation, interest rates, asset returns, and/or the geography of capital flows.
The range of research topics includes (but is not limited to):

  • Sanctions
  • International trade and geopolitics (e.g. regarding global value chains)
  • International finance and geopolitics (e.g. effects on capital flows and asset prices)
  • The (geo-)politics of global reserve currencies and safe assets
  • Geopolitical risks, firms, and the Macroeconomy
  • Energy security and scarce resources
  • The cost of decoupling
  • The economics of technological sovereignty
  • The economics of war

The 2-day conference will take place in the historic “Weltsaal” at the German Foreign Office (Auswärtiges Amt) in Berlin, Germany. It will be co-hosted by the CEPR RPN on Geoeconomics and the CEPR RPN on International Lending and Sovereign Debt and builds upon the success of the Kiel-CEPR “Geopolitics and Economics” conference in September 2022.
Confirmed speakers so far include Javier Bianchi (Minneapolis Fed), Linda Goldberg (NY Fed, CEPR and Geoeconomics RPN), Gita Gopinath (IMF), Sergei Guriev (Sciences Po, CEPR and Geoeconomics RPN), Ethan Ilzetzki (LSE and CEPR) and David Yang (Harvard)


Submissions have now closed

The submission deadline was Thursday, 6 September 2023, 3 PM (CEST), 2 PM (BST), 9 AM (EST).  Authors of accepted papers will be notified by end-September 2023.