During the CEPR Paris Symposium 2023, we presented this year's CEPR prizes, conferred by our academic leadership team of Vice Presidents. In light of the numerous research awards in existence, our focus was on recognising exceptional contributions to policymaking and the profession:

  • The Service to Economic Policymaking award goes to academics who serve in influential policy roles, possibly multiple times. This year's recipients are Agnès Bénassy-Quéré and Silvana Tenreyro.
  • The Special Service to the Profession award went to Tito Boeri, particularly for his role in creating the Festival internationale dell’Economia, an event which brings frontier economics to a broad audience.
  • The Lifetime Service to the Profession award went to Richard Portes for his visionary act of founding CEPR.

Speaking at the ceremony for the award of The Service to Economic Policymaking, CEPR Vice President Hélène Rey said: “It is both an honour and a pleasure for me, as well as the wider economics community, to present this policymaker award to Agnes and Silvana. It stands as a testament to their academic excellence, accomplishments, and impact, as well as their contributions to the public good in general. I believe it's crucial to have individuals who provide a public voice for the economic profession, to students and the wider economic community. 

Agnes currently serves as the Deputy Governor of the Banque de France, on leave from University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne and Paris School of Economics where she is a Professor of economics. Prior to her role at the Banque de France, she served as Chief economist at the French Treasury. Silvana is Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics and was, until recently, an external member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee.

In times of considerable turbulence, Agnes and Silvana have applied essential economic expertise to their policy roles, enabling them to effectively navigate substantial challenges.”

Ugo Panizza, CEPR Vice President, commenting on Tito Boeri’s ‘Special Service to the Profession’ prize, stated: “This prize is recognition for Tito’s dedication to making economic discourse accessible. His multiple contributions include his crucial role in the creation of lavoce.info, of the Economics Festivals of Trento and then Turin, and the VisitINPS scholars programme. This award acknowledges the transformative impact of Tito's initiatives and highlights his pivotal role in enhancing public understanding of economics.”

CEPR President Beatrice Weder di Mauro discussed the award for Richard Portes, stating: "Awarding the Lifetime Service to the Profession award to the founder of CEPR, Richard Portes, is a recognition of his vision for European Economics that has come to fruition over the past four decades where CEPR has gone from strength to strength. The fact that CEPR is now the institution it is would not have been possible without Richard’s initial drive and enthusiasm. Everyone who has benefitted from his advice can attest to the positive effect he has had on their professional lives and on European economics more generally. His ability to combine research, institution building and a full life outside of economics is a source of inspiration for all of us."